African Americans -- Texas -- San Antonio; Municipal government -- Texas -- San Antonio; San Antonio (Tex.)--Race relations--History.; San Antonio (Tex.). City Council.;
Scrapbook of newsclippings assembled by Reverend Black, predominantly about San Antonio local politics, city council candidates, political issues involving the East side and West side of the city, Reverend Black's own political campaigns, and...
African Americans -- Texas -- San Antonio; Civil rights movements -- Texas -- History -- 20th century; Municipal government -- Texas -- San Antonio; San Antonio (Tex.)--Race relations--History.; San Antonio (Tex.). City Council.;
Reverend Black's political campaign and local politics from 1963 through 1965 are covered in newsclippings and letters from local and Texas political figures,including Henry B. Gonzalez.
Luther Apelles Johnson served as Trinity's third president from 1885-1889 and later as president of the faculty. He was responsible for developing Trinity's curriculum and for initiating faculty study leaves. His untimely death in 1900 was a great...
This a view of the original Trinity building shortly after it was completed in 1873. This is the southside of the building and the people in front of the building appear to be faculty, trustees, and townspeople.
In 1895 at the cost of $6,000, the university purchased a private residence in Tehuacana and remodeled and enlarged it into a dormitory for women. President L. A. Johnson and his wife lived in the house as supervisors.
Referred to as ""the Pride of Limestone County,"" Trinity's administrative classroom building was completed in 1892 with the addition of the south wing. In addition to the chapel which seated 600, the building contained 26 large rooms designed for...
Literature Societies, etc.; Students' societies; Classrooms
Philo-Sophronian student literary society room in the Tehuacana main building. Students were free to decorate the room and conducted their meetings free of faculty oversight. Debates and recitations were frequently held.
This is a close frontal view of the home in Tehuacana given to the university by Major John Boyd in 1869. Initially it was used as a classroom for undergraduates and later by students of the law department.