Skip to main content

Trinity Digital Collections

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Skyline (1950-present)
(112 results)



Display: 20

    • Lee Roy the Tiger

    • Sports;
    • Lee Roy was a Royal Bengal tiger purchased by local builder and developer L. R. (Lee Roy) Pletz in 1953. Housed in the San Antonio Zoo, Lee Roy appeared at pep rallies and football games in a portable cage escorted by the Bengal Lancers social...
    • Lee Roy Tiger Cubs

    • Sports;
    • Lee Roy the Bengal Tiger sired cubs in the San Antonio Zoo with mate Queenie. One of his offspring, designated Lee Roy II, continued the tiger tradition after the death of Lee Roy I in 1962. Lee Roy was a Royal Bengal tiger purchased by local...
    • Swimming Pool Dedication

    • Sports;
    • On 6 November 1959, the university swimming pool was dedicated in honor of Mr. and Mrs. D. Harold Byrd, Sr. Their son, D. Harold Byrd, Jr. was the principal donor of the $145,000 facility. Pictured in the photograph are swimmers from Trinity's...
    • Varsity tennis courts

    • Sports;
    • Dedication of varsity tennis courts on 5 November 1959. Courts given by trustee Arthur A. Seeligson, Sr., longtime supporter of Tennis in San Antonio. In photo foreground John Newman makes first official serve on new courts. Other players...
    • George Storch Memorial Library

    • Buildings;
    • Photograph is taken with Storch statue in the foreground looking west. The building was used as the main campus library until the new library was opened in 1978. Funds to build the Storch Library were the gift of Louise J. Lips and her son Charles...
    • Aerial view of Trinity Campus

    • Buildings; Landscape photographs;
    • Aerial view of campus taken c. 1960 from Northrup Hall looking west with Storch Library, Mayfield Cottage, Varsity Tennis courts, McFarlin Residence Halls, and University Presbyterian Church in the background.
    • Eugenia B. Miller Fountain

    • Buildings;
    • The Eugenia B. Miller Fountain was named in honor of the wife of Cecil W. Miller, Trinity trustee and former chairman of the Board (1957-1960) who presented the fountain as a gift to the university in 1966. Fountains were a special interest of Mr....
    • Guenther Park Students

    • Buildings; Students;
    • A group of students gather for conversation in Guenther Park with Northrup Hall in the background. Guenther Park was a small park area named in memory of Erhard R. Guenther commemorating a gift of 6.4 acres of land by Pioneer Flour Mills to Trinity...
    • Guenther Park

    • Buildings;
    • Photograph of Guenther Park with students leaving Northrup Hall in the background. Guenther Park was a small park area named in memory of Erhard R. Guenther commemorating a gift of 6.4 acres of land by Pioneer Flour Mills to Trinity in 1946. The...
    • Friedrich Cactus Garden

    • Buildings;
    • The cactus gardens in the foreground with the Student Union Building in the background. The cacti were a gift of the Friedrich family of San Antonio. The scope of the gardens were diminished with the construction of residence halls on the lower...
    • Swimming Pool

    • Buildings;
    • Trinity's olympic size swimming pool was a gift to the university by D. Harold Byrd, Jr. in honor of his parents, Col. And Mrs. D. Harold Byrd Sr. Dedication ceremonies took place on November 6, 1959.
    • Aerial view Trinity Campus

    • Buildings; Landscape photographs;
    • Aerial view of Trinity campus looking north with the Sams Athletic Center in the foreground and the Parker Chapel and Murchison Tower prominent in center of photograph. On the lower left, work on the construction of E. M. Stevens field is underway.
    • Commencement Sunken Gardens

    • Events
    • After moving to the new campus in 1952, Trinity held its summer commencent exercises in the Sunken Garden Ampitheater in nearby Brackenridge Park. The evening event was held there annually until completion of Laurie Auditorium in 1971. This photo...
    • Capital Campaign 1966

    • Events; Trustees
    • (l-r) Trustee Cecil W. Miller, President James W. Laurie, and Trustee James H. Calvert pose for photograph to initiate an 8.3 Million Dollar Capital Fund Campaign as a step toward the completion of the $50 million Centennial Campaign. Funds from...
    • James W. Laurie and James Robinson

    • Events
    • Pictured left to right are James W. Laurie, Trinity president, and Presbyterian clergyman James Robinson, pastor of the Church of the Master in New York City and founder of Cross Roads Africa program. Robinson visited the Trinity campus in 1961 to...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK